A coughing, wheezing rawkin’ night out with Schon and Company

Haven’t been on blog for a minute…busy with my mother’s book and with my planned journey to a new beginning.  It is long overdue that I set up house in a new location with new opportunities and new hope at FINALLY getting my life back on track.

I am currently about to sign with an agency that holds the Personality Rights to some of the celebrities my mother took pictures of in the 1950s in New York.  It is VERY daunting to contact the estates and agencies of these dead celebs by myself.  And it is very expensive depending on what type of product I require the rights for.  Personality Rights means, I am asking to be able to use an image of a celeb on a product I wish to sell.  Basically, I have to pay money up front for each celeb then give a percentage. I am going to start with greeting cards and hopefully work my way up.

In the meantime I am almost two years out of working a nine-2-five, but I am not too worried.  Well, not really.  I have worked very hard at thinking positive and trying my best to plan my future as best I can do.  Putting positive energy into the universe does not come easily to me, but it DOES work!  The more I rely on positive thoughts and I keep negative thoughts and negative people away I find myself feeling happier and much more at peace.  More on my move later.

Went out last night for the first time in awhile.  Actually, I should not have gone out as I am currently under the weather with a cold.  I had, however, promised to support this band, I try to support local bands as much as I can.  Usually I only support bands who perform in SF as I do not have a car or a means of being transported long distances.

Last night I hit up a supper club called, The Showroom on Van Ness Avenue.  Wonderful spot!  Saw the Miles Schon Band, his new cast of band mates perform mostly original songs!  I liked his other band with male lead, but I also like his current lineup, I danced all night to the offspring of some talented artists.  Miles is of course, Neal Schon’s son.  And the lead singer, Lara Johnston, is the daughter of Tom Johnston, guitarist for the Doobie Brothers.  Miles totally shreds on guitar, the boy’s got his pappy’s “chops.”  A very mature young man for his age, had a lovely talk with him while trying not to breathe too hard on the boy and give him my cooties!  And Lara Johnston’s voice reminded me a bit of Joss Stone with some Viveca Hawkins, singer for The Memorials and just a bit of the late Amy Whinehouse tossed in.  I mean that girl’s got pipes!  The keyboard player, drummer, and bassist whose names I neglected to get, were very exceptional in their solos.  I was very impressed, and it wasn’t the cold pills talking.  My big let down was that my phone cut off just as I taped the beginning of Miles’ solo tribute to Jimmy Hendrix’s “Fire.”  Well, of course my phone cut off at that point!  Had to, it’s Murphy’s damned Law!!

An extra treat for me was meeting two original members of Journey, Neal Schon and Jonathan Cain.  Neal is very friendly, I can always get a big smile out of him.  Actually I’ve met met Neal and Miles before.   Johnathan was a bit reserved,  but what a lovely man.  Keep in mind, I grew up listening to the Doobie Brothers and to Journey, Pat Benatar and such.  It was a treat indeed.

I even got a bit of  what I call my stupid spaz-fan banter with Mr. Cain who aged beautifully…

“Oh wow, this is the first time I ever met you, Mr. Cain.  Gee, do ya age at all, you look great!”  

“Well, I’ve got my father’s genes.”  He said.

“Oh yea?!  Well, of course you do, you look great!  Did I already say that?  Well, maybe I’ll take a picture with you after the show, you think?”  

“I have to catch a flight out of town in the morning.”

“Well, of course you do!  Hey, good luck to your daughter too, she’s a singer I think right?” 

The cold pill/Hot Toddy combo kicked in and I realize I was blithering and said to Mr. Cain…“Um, you know what…I’ll…catch…you…after the show and maybe…take a picture….”  And sauntered back to my seat.  I shuttered at the thought of meeting other talented artists I revere including Bonnie Rait;  India Arie; Jill Scott; and on and on.

After the show I took pictures then raced for the bus home with my trusty bus pass!  A good time was had, by me.  But, alas, I am still feeling under the weather, so I will sign off for now and probably return after the holiday and New Year.

Celebrate your holiday and New Year  with a  big ole flourish, and rejoice with a positive vibe in what’s to come! LDS

Me with Miles Schon and Lara Johnston

Me with Neal Schon and Michaele Salahi

Me with Jonathan Cain

NOTE:  Video is not the best quality, blame me and my celly,

but don’t let that reflect the performances which were in my opinion, stellar!

AL9zwpvt-u0    (Click link to see video)


Leave a Reply

